Updates and What’s on my Shelf!

August. August came and went, as I’m sure y’all are aware, since we are now in the midst of October. August was the beginning of another new beginning for me, I moved back to OSU to start another year of classes and activities.

Ugggh, August. I started my new set of classes, including a class dedicated to Jane Austen literature, a Comparative Studies course on the American Identity (where I get to do research regarding YA Lit!) and a heavy-reading French History course where I’m now engaged in the prose of Guy de Maupassant. August brought my first apartment, the ending of my summer internship at a newspaper and my title of Assistant Director of Youth Theater at my hometown’s Center for the Arts, and the reinstatement of my old job, a lovely customer service and ticket sales position at a local Contemporary Art Museum. I became involved with tons of new organizations (one providing  a book club to Honors Students, that I’m running with two other ladies), met new friends, assimilated back onto campus, all in the lovely month of August.

And, unfortunately, August was the last time I’ve updated on bookish finds. So, along with this paragraph on personal updates, I’m here to update you on the books that I’ve bought to pack my new book shelf. And, some administrative stuff concerning my summer reading list. Welcome back, readers! And welcome the first October post on SLSRSS!

New Picks from August/September:

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt
The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon
A Friday Night Lights Companion, Unauthorized
The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart
The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson
The Diviners by Libba Bray

So, as I tick these off my “to-read” list, I’ll clue you in to the wonders of this lovely crop of books. I’ve already finished Tuck Everlastingso be ready for that.

Summer Reading Updates:
So, I finished Lola and the Boy Next Door. That was already posted on this site! Such a wonderful book. Seriously, go check it out.

I started The Family Fang.
Amazon.com Synopsis- Annie and Buster Fang have spent most of their adult lives trying to distance themselves from their famous artist parents, Caleb and Camille. But when a bad economy and a few bad personal decisions converge, the two siblings have nowhere to turn but their family home. Reunited under one roof for the first time in more than a decade and surrounded by the souvenirs of their unusual upbringing, Buster and Annie are forced to confront not only their creatively ambitious parents, but the chaos and confusion of their childhood.

Written with tremendous heart, wit, and honesty, Kevin Wilson’s The Family Fang is a “comedy, a tragedy, and a tour de force….The best single-word description would be genius” (Ann Patchett, bestselling author of Bel Canto and State of Wonder).

I also dug into The Time Traveler’s Wife! 

The Time Traveler’s Wife, explores the world of a librarian who lives in both the past and the present. He falls in love with a girl when she was young and tells her to wait for him in the future, he won’t remember her but she will remember him. And, they meet. And it’s this romantic, sad story of a couple with so much love and so little and sporadic time. I’m not going to lie, I got distracted by Lola, but this novel was heart wrenching before even the middle of the story. I decided to hold off on the movie until I could finish the novel, but I really enjoyed the character development. Although the concept is a bit sci-fi and is argued that could never happen in reality, the characters are perfect. You’re almost frustrated that the librarian doesn’t remember his lady and leads a life of playboying activities until he finds her in the future.

Emma, by Jane Austen, was another on my list. Little did I know that I would enroll in a JA literature course here at OSU, so that has been put on the shelf until a later date. I’m planning a little Jane Austen for Dummies post, where I summarize the lessons learned on the culture and characters that were taught in class for my blog. We shall see! So far I’m loving the course. Definitely the kinds of classes I want to be taking.

So, as you can probably tell, I was not that accomplished in my readings this summer. I try. I try. But, with no avail. YA lit always has a way of pulling me in when I try to read classics. NOW, onto goals I can accomplish!

Beside reading all 6 of Jane Austen’s novels I have to complete Bel Ami, The Reluctant Fundamentalist, Black Elk Speaks, A Life of Her Own, Tea in the Harem (if you’re a fan of my blog, you’ll know I’ve already read this! Excitement…), The Collaborator, Quiverfull, Under Fire, The Cambridge Companion to Jane Austen, and Everybody’s Jane. Oh, the life of a literature major.

Also, I want to share with you the statement piece of my room, besides my new duvet and my maps purchased from a Columbus boutique…my bookshelf, of course.
Literally took my Mom and I three days, five cans of spray paint, and way too much pride to give up upon. But, it’s purple and it’s pretty and it’s full of good reads. And now whenever my mother and I bring up the bookcase, we share a good laugh.

Here’s a peek into my room.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About She Listens, She Reads, She Speaks.

A site, written by a young woman, who believes that the two simplest pleasures in life are literature and music. A once-in-awhile look into a folk-loving, pop-culture obsessed, book nerd's mind.
This entry was posted in diy, do it yourself, literature, Uncategorized, YA literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your Turn to Speak:

