I Was a Teenage Fall Out Boy (Fan)

fall-out-boy-wallpaper-hdFall Out Boy has been a band for over 10 years. Negativity has been thrown their way whatever they do; they’re too poppy or too screamy. Too laden with eye-liner or too hard to understand. Their lyrics don’t make sense. They’re sellouts.

As we grow older, music taste changes, just like hairstyles, friends, or the current city response on Facebook. Fall Out Boy started their career with a garage band effort. Take This To Your Grave was little more that four guys playing music and having fun as teenagers. Ten years later, their new album has back-up vocals from the likes of Elton John.

To this day, their music keeps the same charming, cynical views of humanity and humbleness that could be heard in the very first songs. That’s the thing that always hooked me about Fall Out Boy, their lyrics are mused over and personal, but there’s always some way you can attach them your own life. And they’re fun to sing along to. Or air drum in the car.

Last weekend I had the opportunity to see them in concert. It had been six years since I had last went to a FOB show. I can honestly say, after all of the changes and hiatuses, I was not let down. Not for one minute. It seemed that all of the original members, Patrick Stump, Pete Wentz, Joe Trohman, and Andy Hurley, had come back to the band with fresh eyes and a passion to play again. The concert was a perfect mix of old, nostalgic inducing songs with the newer tunes. It kept the young and the old fans happy, and constantly jumping and trying to start mosh pits (ugh, the horror).

If you’re going to see a show sometime soon, I’ve recreated the setlist from memory and the help of google. I couldn’t pick whether to have it remain a secret or to read it and revel in the glory before the show. I ended up reading it. So, because I am weak, I’ll allow you to be weak too and share it. We’re all friends here.

1. Thriller
2. I Slept With Someone in Fall Out Boy…
3. A Little Less Sixteen Candles…
4. Disloyal Order of the Water Buffaloes
5. The Phoenix
6. This Ain’t a Scene…
7. Where Did The Party Go?
8. Tell That Mick…
9. Alone Together
10. What A Catch, Donnie
11. Death Valley
12. Hum Hallelujah
13. Grand Theft Autumn/Where Is Your Boy?
14. Sugar, We’re Going Down
15. Young Volcanoes
16. Dance, Dance
17. I Don’t Care
18. My Songs Know What You Did…

ENCORE
19. Save Rock n’ Roll
20. Thnks fr th Mmrs
21. SATURDAY

(Let’s a take a moment of silence-and relief-for the retirement of whole albums with sentence long song titles).

FOB has grown and changed from four awkward teenage kids just trying to have some fun to men making a statement about music and trying to recreate an art form of hits with a little bit of soul. Call them sellouts. Call them emo. Call them whatever you wish; I will remain calling them the first band that got me into “pop punk” and “alternative” and “rock” and eventually lead me to loving folk and indie and bluegrass. I honestly don’t know what my music taste would be like if I wasn’t introduced to their music back in the 6th grade. And I am forever grateful.

*picture found in the Illinois Entertainer

About She Listens, She Reads, She Speaks.

A site, written by a young woman, who believes that the two simplest pleasures in life are literature and music. A once-in-awhile look into a folk-loving, pop-culture obsessed, book nerd's mind.
This entry was posted in Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your Turn to Speak:

